It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:08 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Alternate Reality and MyIDE
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:56 pm 

Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:18 pm
Posts: 8
There is some way to run Alternate Reality - the City with MyIDE ?

I already tried to configure the game .ATR files as "Images" on the MyIDE, but with no avail. Tried even different versions and nothing seems to work. Any hints ?

My configuration is an Atari 800XL NTSC with 64k only and MyIDE+Flash.

Thanks,
Daniel


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alternate Reality and MyIDE
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:58 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:02 am
Posts: 75
This is just a thought as I have only run it from an emulator. But you could create a few partitions of disk size and copy the disks/images to them.
Then use the fdisk menu to swap those as drives 1-4 and boot from the first one.
But the problem is I do not know if one could switch disks and still have the game active.
I would wait for a better answer than this or maybe check out the AtariAge forum to see if anyone there has came up with a solution.
It is all the darn disk swapping that can be a pain.
I think that game though allows one to use multiple drives to bypass the disk swapping though.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alternate Reality and MyIDE
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1246
Location: netherlands
Not sure, but I guess it uses ram in C000-FFFF were MyBIOS runs.....
Those games will never work under the MyBIOS that run from Flash/Ram.
You need a MyBIOS in ROM that replaces your internal Atari-OS.

But anyhow, best is to store the disks in images.
Be aware you must copy them in the correct sequence and optional a empty DOS2.5 disk in the last slot.
When you need to insert disk #2, just press SHIFT+CONTROL+2
When you want to save, and the empty disk is in the 5th slot
press SHIFT+CONTROL+5
press SHIFT+CONTROL+U (to unprotect the image)
Note: all images are protected on load and swap.
The user must unprotect them before writing.
Why?
Because there are some games out-there simply format the image when it's not write protected :-(
Kind of copy protection.....

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alternate Reality and MyIDE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Reading UK
This title had one of the most elaborate copy protection schemes on the A8 due to its use of its own Serial I/O routines. To that extent even hooking into those to use an supplied by the O/S wouldn't work as the memory areas used by those (e.g. Page 3 and zero-page locations) were used for other purposes within the game and so extra work would be required to retain these and so I'm of the opinion that a MyIDE (or similar) version would be quite an undertaking. Even with the Flash-cart version I attempted, problems existed there that the game's overlays (e.g. code for an 'inn' loaded when you enter the establishment) themselves contained routines to maintain the copy protection in the game.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron