It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:17 pm




 Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:22 pm
Posts: 1
Location: The Netherlands
Was it compatible?: Yes
Manufacturer: Conrad Electronic (http://www.conrad.com)
Media Type: Compact Flash
Model Number: 974515 - 89
Capacity: Dependent on what you plug into it :)
Interface: MyIDE+1MbFlash
Notes:
Does not work without a separate power source !



_________________
Ubi dubium ibi libertas.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:59 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 36
Was it compatible?: YES and NO
Manufacturer: TRANSCEND
Media Type: IDE Flash Module
Model Number: TS1GDOM40V-S
Capacity: 1GB
Interface: MyIDE+1MbFlash
Notes: 1GB 40P IDE FLASH MODULE. SMI (V)

Around $20 shipped from http://www.transcendusa.com./Products/M ... 6&LangNo=0

I had a little trouble getting this to work reliably on the first computer I tried (130XE). It worked perfectly on my PC with external power and myidetool so I knew the drive was ok. I was worried that it might be trying to draw too much power from the 8-bit. However, I put it on a stock 65XE and it worked great. It also tested fine on an XEGS.

Then, I tested it on another 130XE, and it had numerous read/write errors(similar to the first 130XE). I tried it with several different power supplies (just about every type of p/s except the big XE versions). Still no luck.

Does the 512MB Transcend work any better with 130XEs?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: timing issues
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 112
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
Please make sure you 130XE's have the timing mod done and the sio pin 3 cap clipped.
It is something Atari caught and fixed on only the last XE's that shipped so most 130's need it done. and not only for the MyIDE but also for the MIO, BlackBox and higher speed disk drives like the us doubler happy and indus gt drives

ultraspeed sio needed mod is here
http://www.cs.xu.edu/~ryanr/atari/doubler.html

PBI timing mods are here
http://nleaudio.com/css/stabiliz.htm

and if you 600xl/800xl seem different then look here for alt instructions
http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/modstab3.txt

ponderosa wrote:
Was it compatible?: YES and NO
Manufacturer: TRANSCEND
Media Type: IDE Flash Module
Model Number: TS1GDOM40V-S
Capacity: 1GB
Interface: MyIDE+1MbFlash
Notes: 1GB 40P IDE FLASH MODULE. SMI (V)

Around $20 shipped from http://www.transcendusa.com./Products/M ... 6&LangNo=0

I had a little trouble getting this to work reliably on the first computer I tried (130XE). It worked perfectly on my PC with external power and myidetool so I knew the drive was ok. I was worried that it might be trying to draw too much power from the 8-bit. However, I put it on a stock 65XE and it worked great. It also tested fine on an XEGS.

Then, I tested it on another 130XE, and it had numerous read/write errors(similar to the first 130XE). I tried it with several different power supplies (just about every type of p/s except the big XE versions). Still no luck.

Does the 512MB Transcend work any better with 130XEs?


Last edited by _The Doctor__ on Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:52 am, edited 3 times in total.


_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
_The Doctor__ wrote:
Please make sure you 130XE's have the timing mod done and the sio pin 3 cap clipped.


Where are these mods documented?



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 112
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
try the three links listed above in the earlier post
I you need more info or that does not do it... go here
http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/blackbox.htm
and scroll 3/4 of the way down till Isn't there a real solution?
bf2k+ wrote:
_The Doctor__ wrote:
Please make sure you 130XE's have the timing mod done and the sio pin 3 cap clipped.


Where are these mods documented?



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:00 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
Duhh.. how did I miss that?? :shock:

_The Doctor__ wrote:
try the three links listed above in the earlier post
I you need more info or that does not do it... go here
http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/blackbox.htm
and scroll 3/4 of the way down till Isn't there a real solution?
bf2k+ wrote:
_The Doctor__ wrote:
Please make sure you 130XE's have the timing mod done and the sio pin 3 cap clipped.


Where are these mods documented?



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 112
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
We were following each other around, so while I was editing you were reading. I was verifying the links while you were posting. lol :lol: As you were posting I was inserting the links. The original time stamp was seconds apart. Cool!

bf2k+ wrote:
Duhh.. how did I miss that?? :shock:

_The Doctor__ wrote:
try the three links listed above in the earlier post
I you need more info or that does not do it... go here
http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/blackbox.htm
and scroll 3/4 of the way down till Isn't there a real solution?
bf2k+ wrote:
_The Doctor__ wrote:
Please make sure you 130XE's have the timing mod done and the sio pin 3 cap clipped.


Where are these mods documented?



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
_The Doctor__ wrote:
We were following each other around, so while I was editing you were reading. I was verifying the links while you were posting. lol :lol: As you were posting I was inserting the links. The original time stamp was seconds apart. Cool!


Whew... I thought I was hallucinating again!!!!



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:45 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 36
Both of the 130XEs that I tried this on had the same problem. However, neither one of them had any trouble with a CF to IDE adapter and a 64MB CF card. I can understand that timing might cause some problems, but it seems the IDE modules seem to be more sensitive to this issue than the CF adapter / CF card combination. I wonder why this is. By the way, one of the 130XEs appears to have been manufactured in 1990.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1250
Location: netherlands
Hi,

I know the problems you have. Most of the time it's a PSU-issue.
Some memory modules are more power-sensitive then others and give
problems on expanded machines. Best is to use a external 5 volt to
power the memory module. Sometimes it's a good idea to clean the
cartridge-slot (dirty contacts lower the voltage to the cartridge).

But sometimes it just won't work, a typical atari issue......
You need to switch to a different atari or module.
I have the least (almost none) problems with internal MyIDE on ANY
system using ANY type of IDE hardware.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 3:48 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 325
Was it compatible?: NO
Manufacturer: Transcend
Media Type: Compact Flash IDE Module
Model Number: 256 MB (vertical)
Capacity: (Labelled capacity) 256 MB
Interface: MyIDE+1MbFlash

Notes: Tried this in two XE's and one XL using the MyIDE Flash Cart. Sometimes will partially work, but writing to the cart always ends in Error 163 (MyDos). Tried two of these modules with same results. Used both internal and external power. Both modules work perfectly with KMK-JZ IDE interface.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 9:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1250
Location: netherlands
thewhiz wrote:
Was it compatible?: NO
Manufacturer: Transcend
Media Type: Compact Flash IDE Module
Model Number: 256 MB (vertical)
Capacity: (Labelled capacity) 256 MB
Interface: MyIDE+1MbFlash

Notes: Tried this in two XE's and one XL using the MyIDE Flash Cart. Sometimes will partially work, but writing to the cart always ends in Error 163 (MyDos). Tried two of these modules with same results. Used both internal and external power. Both modules work perfectly with KMK-JZ IDE interface.


Could be a MyIDE-cartridge issue.
If you have a 74F245 onboard, please consult Steve Tucker.

Also try the 4.4F beta OS.
The IDE routines are changed to give better compatibility.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:43 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 325
mr-atari wrote:

Could be a MyIDE-cartridge issue.
If you have a 74F245 onboard, please consult Steve Tucker.

Also try the 4.4F beta OS.
The IDE routines are changed to give better compatibility.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Hi Sijmen-

Thanks for the cart tip. It has a 74F245PC. Is that what you are referring to, or just a regular 74F245? (I did send a note to Steve, though)

-Larry


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:12 am 

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 3
RemoWilliams wrote:
Was it compatible?: Yes
Manufacturer: Transcend
Media Type: IDE Flash Module
Model Number: TS2GDOM40V
Capacity: 2GB

Supplied with pin 20 power from cart.

Unfortunately, I ordered and received one of these modules and have had no luck, never getting past HD ERROR! and dropping back to basic. I have tried powering it both via pin 20 and externally. Also, as it appeared to have corrupt partition table data, I also mounted it on a PC and zero'd sector 0 on it to make sure there was no partition data.

My MyIDE internal interface works with a Syba(?) CD-to-IDE adapter, so presumably that's fine. Unfortunate - I really wanted to get this working so it could be internally installed on the 800xl.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: timing issues
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:53 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 325
This is a really old message, but I believe the "original" documentation for this SIO/cap issue is in the Happy 1050 installation manual CIRCA 1984/5.
-Larry


bf2k+ wrote:
_The Doctor__ wrote:
We were following each other around, so while I was editing you were reading. I was verifying the links while you were posting. lol :lol: As you were posting I was inserting the links. The original time stamp was seconds apart. Cool!


Whew... I thought I was hallucinating again!!!!


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron