It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:21 am




 Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:27 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Here is a short video showing how to bootstrap a completely blank CF card for use with MyBIOS and MyDOS 4.53.



Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:41 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Here is the list of steps as text.

This list assumes you are using the default MyIDE-II shipping workbook available here:

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1304

1) Insert the MyIDE-II in your XL/XE Computer and turn on the computer.
2) At the boot menu, insert your blank CF card.
3) From the boot menu, select MyBIOS
4) At the MyBIOS boot menu, press and hold SELECT+START+OPTION until the MyBIOS partition menu appears.
5) Selection option 'I' to Initialize the CompactFlash card, then 'A'uto to let MyBIOS decide the particulars.
6) Select 'M'ake to make a new partition. The parameters to choose are Drive #'A', Size '65535', Density 'D', Name 'MYDOS', then press Return.
7) Assign the new partition 'A' to Atari drive #1 by pressing 'C'hange, then 'A', then '1'.
8 ) Press 'ESC' to exit the partition menu, and make sure to answer 'Y'es when asked to save your changes.

You have created the new partition for MyDOS, but it is blank. When you exit the MyBIOS partition program, you will very likely just get a rainbow display as seen in the video, as there is nothing bootable on your new partition yet.

We are going to add a bootable copy of MyDOS to it now.

9) Power cycle the XL/XE computer to return to the Maxflash Studio boot menu.
10) Select MyBIOS again
11) At the MyBIOS boot menu, press SHIFT to leave MyBIOS in memory and return to the Maxflash Studio menu.
12) Select 'MyDOS 4.53 Rescue Loader' to load MyDOS directly into memory and start it.

We now have MyDOS running in memory, along with MyBIOS and the correct partition table. All we need to do now is configure the drive information so MyDOS can see it, then write DOS files to make it bootable.

13) Select option 'O' to Change Config, then select drive '1', then 'N'o to 'Remove Drive?', 'Y' to 'drive configurable?', 'Y' to 'High Capacity drive?' and '65535' to 'Drive Size (in sectors)?', then press Return.
14) Select 'I'nitialize Disk to format drive #1, answer 'Y' to format drive #1. MyDOS writes its VTOC slowly for large disks, so this will take a few seconds to complete. During this time you should see the blue activity LED on the CompactFlash cartridge blinking.
15) Select 'H' to Write DOS Files to drive '1', and press Return.

Your new partition in drive #1 is now formatted with MyDOS and has a bootable set of MyDOS system files on it.

To verify the partition is working as expected, power cycle the Atari computer, select 'MyBIOS' from the Maxflash Studio boot menu, then press any key at the MyBIOS boot menu to boot from your new partition.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
Manual found here:

viewtopic.php?p=6957#p6957

:)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:46 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
I was looking at that last night, thanks for posting it. :-)

The X: device is interesting... do you think it would work from BASIC using CIO commands or would it require some assembly to use the SIO vector?

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
Device X: is a low-level device, so it work from any programming level :)

I use it in the DISK-version of MyBIOS to dump/load memory blocks directly to LBA-sectors.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:29 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:33 am
Posts: 3
classics wrote:
Here is the list of steps as text.

This list assumes you are using the default MyIDE-II shipping workbook available here:

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1304

1) Insert the MyIDE-II in your XL/XE Computer and turn on the computer.
2) At the boot menu, insert your blank CF card.
3) From the boot menu, select MyBIOS
4) At the MyBIOS boot menu, press and hold SELECT+START+OPTION until the MyBIOS partition menu appears.


Does anyone else get flickery garbage at step 4 (screenshot attached) Everything else seems good.

I should mention this is on a stock XEGS (XL OS v4). I can't get more than a black screen on a 130XE (XL OS 3, 128k)


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.



_________________
My other sig is funny. Honest!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:12 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
I haven't seen that before, but I don't have an XEGS here to test with. Is it a problem only with MyBIOS?

If you select the cartridge diagnostic package from the boot menu, are you able to run these tests without any errors accumulating?

Test #6 (Keyhole RAM Test) (Stop test after 1-2 minutes)
Test #8 (Will stop once pattern is written)
Test #9 (Stop test after 1-2 minutes)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
I will pull out my XEGS to test today.

Seems that data is wrongly read.... Strange.
Program is stored and run from flash.
SRAM at $8000 and FlashROM at $A000

Stock rev_4 should not be an issue.

More news later today.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
No, no issues, except F2 directly boots into the cartridge with no keyboard attached (SHIFT is down).

NTSC version XEGS used.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:40 am 

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:33 am
Posts: 3
classics wrote:
I haven't seen that before, but I don't have an XEGS here to test with. Is it a problem only with MyBIOS?

If you select the cartridge diagnostic package from the boot menu, are you able to run these tests without any errors accumulating?

Test #6 (Keyhole RAM Test) (Stop test after 1-2 minutes)
Test #8 (Will stop once pattern is written)
Test #9 (Stop test after 1-2 minutes)

Steve


Thanks Steve. Cart sails through test #6 and #8 but fails every single bank read on test #9. :(



_________________
My other sig is funny. Honest!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:56 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Does it do the same thing on your 130XE, assuming you can get it to start there?

I forgot to mention, that test #8 must be run immediately before #9 (it prepares the sram for test #9).

If running test #8, then immediately running test #9 shows failures, I would say this cartridge has a sram defect. :-( Please e-mail me to arrange for a replacement at classics@atarimax.com.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
That would explain the funny screen, since it is stored and displayed from SRAM.
The menu uses bank #$10, blended in at $8000.
Also all data read from IDE/CF is stored there.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:56 am 

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:33 am
Posts: 3
classics wrote:
Does it do the same thing on your 130XE, assuming you can get it to start there?

I forgot to mention, that test #8 must be run immediately before #9 (it prepares the sram for test #9).

If running test #8, then immediately running test #9 shows failures, I would say this cartridge has a sram defect. :-( Please e-mail me to arrange for a replacement at classics@atarimax.com.

Steve


Thanks Steve. Ran test 8 then test 9, with the same results. PM Sent.

I'll have to keep myself busy with my SIO2PC and MaxFlash carts :)



_________________
My other sig is funny. Honest!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 15
Hi guys. Followed the instructions to the letter.. Here's what i see when i put the card in windows to format it..

Am using a 2gb CF card, I get a 882MB RAW partition the windows computer tries to format (I am assuming this is the MyDOS part, and a 1GB unallocated section..

I was thinking I'd get nearly the entire 2GB to use for the Fat32. Have I missed a step?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VIDEO: Bootstrapping a blank CF card for MyBIOS/MyDOS
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1317
Location: netherlands
That is correct, time to read the technical section of the manual.

2Gb -> about 40/60 to 50/50 FAT32/MyIDE depending on CHS-specifications.
If you do not use MyIDE, just format the CF on your PC 100% FAT32.
Or use 2 cards, one for FAT32, one for MyIDE.
INIT the MyIDE-card MANUAL and select NO FAT32.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron