It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:14 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Newbie question
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:03 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:10 pm
Posts: 5
I have a MyIDE II with pre-supplied CF card and started using the IDE partition by just putting existing XEX files on it, which works fine. Now I am looking at using the rest of the functionality, such as SAVING and LOADING files from ATARI BASIC. I did a successfull SAVE and LOAD once, but now it just seems to give me an ERROR 130. Listing the directory in the MyDOS interface gives an ERROR 160. Any suggestions on how to proceed?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 4:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1260
Location: netherlands
I could need more info to get this going.....

Atari manual: Error 160 = disk drive error.
You are on the original cartridge content, MyBIOS 4.8.06 ?

So I assume you load MyBIOS and then pressing enter.
This will boot into DOS.
Then shift+control+tab B to bypass the basic-bug.
This will re-boot with the internal BASIC enabled.

Could be that something/somehow has corrupted your disk mounted as D1:

How many partitions are present?
Press HELP.

Talk to you later.
Sijmen.

P.S.
I would suggest to update to the latest 4.9.B16
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:30 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:10 pm
Posts: 5
I ran an older version of MyBIOS so I upgraded. I seem to have fixed the problem by re-initializing the disk and writing DOS files again using the rescue loader.

I do not understand what you mean with "shift+control+tab B to bypass the basic-bug". Pressing shift+control+tab in MyDOS resets the system. I am not able to press B at the same time. What is the difference with pressing "option" in MyBIOS menu or with selecting "Atari BASIC" in MyIDE start menu?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 1:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1260
Location: netherlands
shift+control+tab + B: I was referring to the 4.8 MyBIOS.
Since you are now on 4.9: all is transferred to the HELP-key.
Then press B to toggle internal BASIC on/off.
(Remember to use 'C'oldstart after toggling BASIC)

So, with OPTION, you use the internal BASIC build into your atari (*).
When you select from the cartridge, you "insert" a cartridge containing BASIC.
Does not matter much, except with the internal BASIC, you could use the 8k RAM that is beneath it.
But that require some programming skills ;-)

Yep, using the rescue loader is the trick. Nice.
I was coming to that in my next post.
Need to know first what OS you were running.

Perhaps you want to create an extra partition and assign that to D2: or something like that.
Save your work there and keep D1: for boot-strapping and system-files.

Later,
Sijmen.

*) Atari 600XL,800XL and all XE's


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:58 am 

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:10 pm
Posts: 5
I am still somewhat confused on why I would want to toggle basic on/off.

I am interested in creating additional partitions and using images though. Can I just use "maKe" to add new partition? What do I enter as size given that I already have a 65535 D1 on my 1GB CF? What can I do with images?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:18 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1260
Location: netherlands
Toggling basic on/off, just convenient.

Images are intended for multi-disk games.
You must copy them in sequence to image-space (START)-key
(remember) Images are write protected by default.
Example: Dallas-A, Dallas-B

Partitions are for normal day to day use.
You can maKe a new partition, sure.
Remember that you can swap and re-assign partitions to your liking.
So, when you do not need partition A or/as D1, just rename it to <return> nothing.
Like here:
viewtopic.php?p=9255#p9255
Flexible setup :-)

Did I mention you are on the incorrect forum?
;-0


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:56 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:10 pm
Posts: 5
thanx for the tips, sorry about using the wrong forum

[edit mr-atari] topic moved.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron