It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:33 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Error 160
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
I'm somewhat new to this. I am trying to set up FAT32 on my new Atarimax MyIDE II. I have watched the setup video and I seem to be hitting a dead end.

I set up the partition and then run the MyDOS 4.53 rescue loader. I follow the steps as shown in the video, but when I go to Select Item (1), right before I go through with formatting, I get Error 160. I have deleted started over half a dozen times trying to figure out what is getting me to this error but am having no luck. Thoughts? I'm trying not to throw this thing out a window. :lol:

Using MyBIOS v4.8-B3
Screenshots attached


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error 160
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:05 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1258
Location: netherlands
OK, first, can you downsize your screenshots to 25%?
Remove them and upload smaller pictures.
Can't see all at once ;-)

FAT32 is the PC-partition on your CF-card, so you need to put your card in the PC.
It will see a freshly prepared unformatted FAT32-container and asks you to format is.
Say: yes.
Than copy the files you need to the card, safely eject, done.
These files you can load with the atarimax fat-loader found in your boot-menu.

Your screenshots:
MyBIOS uses a different partition on the card, specific for the MyIDE-hardware.
Error-160 is a standard message for a unreadable format.
Format the drive before doing directory.
But: Please consult the manual and then the quick start part.
I recommend not to have a 16mb partition as drive one.
MyDOS has some quirks and when it does, you need a standard drive 1 to recover.
So D1: 720s SD and D2: 65535 DD.
Use D1 for system files only and D2 as you like.
After setting them up in the MyIDE-MENU, you need to (re-)format them with MyDOS.
But all is explained in the quick manual.
These partitions are only accessible on the atari using mybios.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error 160
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:32 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Sijmen,

Thanks for the reply and I apologize for the size of the screenshots, I did this on my phone.

Can you post a link to the manual you are referencing? I want to make sure I am looking at the same thing you are.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error 160
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1258
Location: netherlands
viewtopic.php?p=6957#p6957

I changed the pictures for you.
No problem.

But remember, FAT32-portion is PC-usage, not MyBIOS.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error 160
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:46 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
I got it working. Thank you so much for your help.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron