It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:23 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems with hotkeys and multiple disks
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:22 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:23 am
Posts: 2
Hi there,

I've gotten the MyBIOS 4.9 installed on my MyIDE-II cartridge via the instructions, but I'm having trouble with two things -

The SHIFT-CONTROL-... keys don't seem to work (they do nothing) and in the image manager, I can't seem to set the second disk as D2 - I hit SHIFT-CONTROL-2 and I don't get the beep, just the normal keypress click.

I'm on an Atari 130XE, so I don't know if that has any impact.

The process I've used:
  1. I uploaded two ATR files into Slots 1 and 2 using MyIDE Drive Manager,
  2. Inserted the card into the cartridge and booted
  3. Choose the "MyBIOS-F2 4.9.b16" image
  4. Hold down HELP to get to the main menu
  5. START to get to the image manager
  6. I see my two ATR files here
  7. Highlighted the first, hit SHIFT-CONTROL-1
  8. Highlighted the second, hit SHIFT-CONTROL-2
  9. Hit ESC to go to main menu
  10. At this point, I see the 1 is green, and the first disk is shown in the IMAGE list
  11. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 are all red, and second disk isn't shown in IMAGE list

I'm a little stuck, so some help would be much appreciated :D

BTW, this MyIDE-II is pretty awesome! I've gotten much further with it than I did with an SIO2SD adapter.

Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems with hotkeys and multiple disks
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1260
Location: netherlands
Hi Rob,

Almost there :-)

In the image-menu, you only select disk-1
ESC then coldstart

disk-1 now is under shift+control+1
next disk in sequence under shift+control+2
etc.

The green and red drives are the logical drives present, not images.
Logical drives are the drives with assigned drive numbers.
Images are always mapped to D1:

So continue like this:
7, select first disk, press enter
9, press ESC (main menu)
10, press C (cold start)

Now when you need to swap disks to #2, press shift+control+2 until the beep.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems with hotkeys and multiple disks
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:51 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:23 am
Posts: 2
mr-atari wrote:
Hi Rob,
In the image-menu, you only select disk-1
ESC then coldstart

disk-1 now is under shift+control+1
next disk in sequence under shift+control+2
etc.


Thanks for the reply!

Editing - I think I got it now! I wasn't holding down the keys long enough to hear the beep. Now I can switch images! I really wish I could make the image off the cartridge be D2: instead of D1:, that way I could boot from my MyDOS partition easier and have both present :)

It does seem that if I load a ROM image in the FAT32 loader, that the MyBIOS is wiped out of memory though. That's making it challenging to get SpartaDOS X up.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems with hotkeys and multiple disks
PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1260
Location: netherlands
Yes, you need to hold the hotkeys long.
This is to support software that uses the same keys.
Pressing them shortly will send the key-code to the software.
Pressing them long will send the key-code to the OS.

---

In theory, the fat-loader does not disable MyBIOS.
Only the loaded software does that.

But remember to load MyBIOS first, then return to the cartridge-menu (press shift).
Then use the fat-loader, to load what you want.

Compatibility is always an issue with a custom OS running from OS-RAM.
Any program that uses that area too or swaps it back to the stock Atari-OS is incompatible.

Quick test:
Just press and hold one of the hot-keys, if it beeps the MyBIOS is still active.

---

Back to images, they must be mapped to D1:, always and write-protected.
Because the software on it is designed to load from D1:
But you can toggle back to the logical partition assigned to D1: if needed.
Just use SHIFT+CONTROL+M to toggle between logical/image.
Remember protection is ON.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron