Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

New User Help
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2745
Page 1 of 1

Author:  staticfade [ Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:37 pm ]
Post subject:  New User Help

I just received the MyIDE-II Compact Flash Cartridge and pre-configured card. Very excited to get the old Atari 130XE up and running again. I have put several games onto the flash card and most work with success. However, I do have some that will appear to load and fail or the game has multiple disks (e.g., Ultima 4 or Summer Games) and ask to insert disk 2. Based on my limited use and knowledge of the cartridge should I assume that you cannot play the games that are on multiple disks? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Author:  mr-atari [ Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New User Help

Well, yes you can, but it's more for advanced users.

Best is to update your cartridge with the myide-only files.

In a nutshell:
With mybios or myide-only, you can swap disks.
They must be in sequence in image space.
Shift-control-number selects the relative disk.

But as I said, you need the learn to work with the advanced system.

Grtz,
Sijmen.

Author:  staticfade [ Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New User Help

mr-atari wrote:
Well, yes you can, but it's more for advanced users.

Best is to update your cartridge with the myide-only files.

In a nutshell:
With mybios or myide-only, you can swap disks.
They must be in sequence in image space.
Shift-control-number selects the relative disk.

But as I said, you need the learn to work with the advanced system.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Thanks for the reply. OK, I definitely like digging into this more. So in mybios I assume you can "mount" disks then? And use Shift-Control-Number to switch disks to the required disk? I will give it a shot. So far, I have really enjoyed taking a long long walk down memory lane!

Author:  mr-atari [ Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New User Help

Yes, you select the first disk in image-mode.
Then, once booted, you can swap disks with the shift+control keys.
Remember to hold them long enough down.
A beep will given when processed.

Best to flash your cartridge content to the myide-only #7 content. That holds all mybios versions from shipping to the latest. Plus all other things you need.

Nice to hear you enjoy the past.
Grtz,
Sijmen

Author:  staticfade [ Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New User Help

mr-atari wrote:
Yes, you select the first disk in image-mode.
Then, once booted, you can swap disks with the shift+control keys.
Remember to hold them long enough down.
A beep will given when processed.

Best to flash your cartridge content to the myide-only #7 content. That holds all mybios versions from shipping to the latest. Plus all other things you need.

Nice to hear you enjoy the past.
Grtz,
Sijmen


Hi again...well I finally pulled myself away from the fun and games....I want to tackle this image-mode. I have been looking all over the place (YoutTube, forums) but I am not seeing anything that really walks through the steps. In my request, I would a game, like Ultima IV. It has 4 disks. I am unclear the steps to make this happen where I can hit the shift+control keys. Thanks for your responses...they have much appreciated!

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New User Help

Yes, sure.

Working with MyIDE-partitions is for advanced users, so you have to understand the why / why not yourself.
MyIDE-partitions are different then PC-partitions, nor can you read both or interact between them on the Atari.
The MyIDE-manager helps you on the PC to transfer disks (ATR) to from your CF-card.

1/
You need to update the cartridge content first.
http://www.mr-atari.com/Mr.Atari/MyIDE-ONLY/
Version #7 is the latest.

[Download and read the manuals found here]
http://www.mr-atari.com/Mr.Atari/MyBIOS/

2/
Then you need on your PC the MyIDE-manager.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1592

3/
Now, pop the CF card in your PC-reader start the manager.
Copy the ultima disks in sequence on the image-partition.
If the CF has no MyIDE-partition, it will complain I guess.

>Then you have to run the MyIDE-menu on the atari
>!!! This will delete all data present, so make a backup of your files first !!!
>Select 2 (MyIDE-only), select 1 (myide-menu setup)
>Just do auto init, exit/save
>goto 3

4/ Once the disks are on the CF.
Boot the atari, select 2, select 2, select the first diskette (arrows/enter or joystick/fire)
You are back in the bootscreen, image-mode selected and ready to go.
Most likely the disk boot does not need BASIC, so press enter.
This boots disks 1.

5/ when ever you need to switch disks.
press/hold shift+control+number and wait for the beep.

Remember that in image-mode, disks are write protected, so if you want to save to a mounted disk:
You need to press/hold shift+control+P (toggle protection) and wait for the beep.
Then save your game status.

Try dallas-quest first, to get going and getting used to MyIDE-partitions.
This one works 100% sure.

Ultima, I don't know.
MyIDE-ONLY is most likely compatible, if not, you can try MyBIOS-RAM-FMP

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/