Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1753
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Centurion [ Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:04 am ]
Post subject:  Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

Hello,

I am trying to put together a DataSoft multicart with Bruce Lee, Conan, Goonies & Zorro(on an 8mbit cart). I have been able to get Bruce Lee and Zorro working ok it seem, just not Goonies and Conan. I know there are images for these two titles Steven has posted, but it appears they require their own cart to run properly. Has anyone had luck adding these two within a Maxflash Studio Workbook? I have tried several ATR's with no luck.

Also, I have seen these two games on "cartridge_fan's" 39-in-1 image, just hoping to add these games to my own menu.

Please help if you can. Thank you!

Author:  phsstpok [ Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

Here's my best shot at this.

The games all start and seem to work. I can't promise any more than that.

Check the README file to see what needed to be done. Not mentioned in the notes is the fact that The Goonies needs 128K.

I've enclosed the workbook, source files, cartridge image file, and ATR to flash a cartridge, and the README I just mentioned.

I didn't get a chance to test a real cartridge.

If you find this workbook adequate please add it (or an updated one) to Studio Workbooks Forum.

-SteveS.

Author:  Centurion [ Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

Thank you SteveS. I will check this out asap and let you know how it goes. :)

Author:  Centurion [ Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

SteveS, your zip file was great! Thank you. Conan worked perfectly it seems and your readme file was nice of you. I am trying to run these on a stock 800XL, so I am going to experiment with some other Goonies files and see if I have any luck using your settings. Conan working is one step closer. I appreciate your help. Cheers

Author:  phsstpok [ Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

Centurion wrote:
SteveS, your zip file was great! Thank you. Conan worked perfectly it seems and your readme file was nice of you. I am trying to run these on a stock 800XL, so I am going to experiment with some other Goonies files and see if I have any luck using your settings. Conan working is one step closer. I appreciate your help. Cheers

The US Gold tape (.CAS) and disk (.ATX) versions of Goonies seem to run on an emulated 64K XL. I wonder if it was the method that was used to crack the game which makes 128K a requirement for the single ATR version.

I've never played platformers much and Goonies is completely new to me.

It would be nice if we find a solution. I too have a mostly stock, 64K, 800XL (and also a stock 800).

-SteveS

Author:  Centurion [ Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please help: Goonies & Conan in Workbook Menu

I'm guessing you're right on the 128K version.

I had no luck with any of the Goonies files I have tried. I will attach them here.

Thanks again for your help.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/