Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Feud NTSC fix?
https://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=181
Page 1 of 1

Author:  TjLaZer [ Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:24 am ]
Post subject:  Feud NTSC fix?

Hello,
With all the ATR hacking to get them to work on carts, does anyone know how to edit Feud to work on NTSC? It has a quirk that when run in NTSC the joystick doesn't work. It has to be in PAL to be playable! Here is the ATR if anyone can help get this to run on NTSC... Would make a nice Cart too!

Author:  Wrathchild [ Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

Had a look at this via taking a CAS image and making my own cart from that.

The issue boiled down to the game doing some memory shifting (presumably graphics) during the VBI time and so on a PAL machine has more cycles (i.e. through more VCOUNT lines being available). Some game loop code, around address $7680, is waiting for a VCOUNT=4 and so doesn't get to continue. By checking in a debugger it appears this is now 'free' when VCOUNT=32, so I've set this to 33 just to be on the safe side and the movement works again now. The side affect appears to be a slight(!) flickering in the graphics but appears playable.

You can probably locate the code and patch your disk image accordingly.

Regards,
Mark

Author:  Wrathchild [ Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

Forgot to mention that the NTSC fix only kicks in if required, on PAL the original setting of VCOUNT=4 is retained.

Author:  Ray Wilmott [ Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

Is there a way to make this work in a typical multi-file flashcart with menu loader? In Maxflash stufio and my 800xl, it just crashes.

Author:  Wrathchild [ Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

Looks like it should be straight forward enough to make an executable version although the game code starts at $0c00 and sometimes DOSes like load addresses to be higher. This can be gotten around by using self-extracting wrappers though. I may get a chance to look at this over the coming weekend but no promises ;)

Author:  _The Doctor__ [ Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

hi wrathchild,
could you repatch this with the vcount=32 instead of 33.... I have a multitude of real ataris and I want to see if there is any effect or hitches across the line at the tighter settings... thanks

Author:  TjLaZer [ Fri May 24, 2013 5:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Feud NTSC fix?

Seems to work on NTSC now, thanks! 1Mb Flash image attached!

Can this be made into a XEX or exe file?

Author:  PoMa P [ Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:33 am ]
Post subject:  Feud NTSC fix

The NTSC version has fewer audio channels, which is actually good when trying to run it on a flashcart. It's also the only version the should work when injected into the 3DS VC.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/