It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Reading UK
Thanks Steve,

Strangely for me it did work in 3.1 (must be XL, disable basic?)
but not in Atari++. Looking into the Atari++ sources is seems they
were putting a binary loader as a dummy 3 sector bootstrapper
for the exe to load as a pseudo disk-image. This extra code was
being located at $700-$799 and so being trashed by the $500
segment of the BBSB file. I then thought, Well this loader code isn't
actually needed is it and so removed it and the game then loaded OK.
In theory the $100 code could now be shifted up to $600 if necessary.
Try this one.

Regards,
Mark


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:05 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Still crashing. I traced through it a bit and it does reach $672F , but the code there does not make much sense:

TIP: Type '?' for help, 'CONT' to exit
(breakpoint at 672F)
> d 672f
672F    LDY $D60E           ; 4cyc ; AC 0E D6
6732    NOP #$20            ; 2cyc ; 80 20
6734    NOP                 ; 2cyc ; DA
6735    ROR $80,X ;LOMEM    ; 6cyc ; 76 80
6737    SBC ($31),Y ;CHKSUM ; 5cyc ; F1 31
6739    DEY                 ; 2cyc ; 88
673A    ORA $1E80           ; 4cyc ; 0D 80 1E
673D    NOP                 ; 2cyc ; DA
673E    LAX $81 ;LOMEM+1    ; 3cyc ; A7 81
6740    SAX ($0F,X) ;APPMHI+1 ; 6cyc ; 83 0F
6742    CMP $EEA7,X         ; 4cyc ; DD A7 EE
6745    SAX ($57,X) ;DINDEX ; 6cyc ; 83 57
6747    ADC #$83            ; 2cyc ; 69 83
6749    ADC $A769,Y         ; 4cyc ; 79 69 A7
674C    RLA $5283           ; 6cyc ; 2F 83 52
674F    ADC #$83            ; 2cyc ; 69 83
6751    NOP                 ; 2cyc ; 7A
6752    ADC #$AE            ; 2cyc ; 69 AE
6754    ASL $0AAC           ; 6cyc ; 0E AC 0A
6757    LAX $0E,X ;APPMHI   ; 4cyc ; B7 0E
6759    INC $FE97           ; 6cyc ; EE 97 FE
675C    RLA $DEC6           ; 6cyc ; 2F C6 DE
675F    SBC $57E0,Y         ; 4cyc ; F9 E0 57
6762    ADC #$E0            ; 2cyc ; 69 E0


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Reading UK
OK, so I'll sneek in another constraint :evil:
The computer must be PAL :lol:
I'll remember to NTSC compatability in future!

Therefore some of the decoding must be dependent on the
PAL/NTSC detection (remember its a UK tape release).
I can hunt for that and fix it up.

Therefore this version of the game may not bother even
adjusting its timings based on the system and so you may
end up with more or less bonus depending on which system
you are playing on (or even run out of time).

Regards,
Mark


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Reading UK
Wrathchild wrote:
I can hunt for that and fix it up.

Actually that looks like a no-brainer!
There are many of these (reads to $d014) occuring
and though they can be replaced with a NOP, LDA #$01
(although some are sneaky and use X or Y indexes to
get the value, see $79CF, $7CAB and $8459)
this is all fine for the first level but then the next level
is corrupted (monsters double width) and also the
high score entry doesn't permit joystick entry, so I am
guessing that some checksumming on the parts that
maybe a hacker would alter is also being done and
hence having this knock on effect, so I'll give it up. :oops:

Guess it'll just have to stay a PAL only compatible version. :(

Regards,
Mark


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:51 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
So, its region locked. :D

I never would have expected that. Bill was an evil genius with the copy protection.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 9:17 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 36
Well, thanks to bbfix3 I am able to play BBSB for the first time on the myide cart.

I've tried every different version I could find, and they all failed to execute, until this one (same goes for gyruss btw, tho it seems fine at this point).

However, this version "bonks" if you get past level 1. That is, the elevator thing doesn't work on level 2. I think it might have something to do with the bank switching, but I'm not sure. Often times, pressing reset makes some games work with the myide cart (e.g. pooyan, pharaohs curse). However, this was not the case with BBSB. It seems to "need" to have the cart inserted and noticed by the 130XE at all times.

Any ideas?

The myide cart is an OUTSTANDING product, even if it doesn't work with BBSB, btw.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:16 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 36
Never mind what I said about BBSB not working. The "fixed" (bbfix3) works fine. Apparently, I had a malfunctioning 130XE. I just got a brand new one, and now the "bonk" I was referring to in my previous post is no longer an issue. I haven't gotten past level 2 yet, but that's my problem.

Side note, the elevator still crashes on the myide cart with bbfix3 if you press reset, so, uh, don't press reset.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: