It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wizard of Wor - Joystick Port 2?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:26 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:50 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lansing MI
Hi!

Have ya noticed that all of the versions of Wizard of Wor use joystick port #2? Why do ya suppose that is? Seems like an odd bit o' programming.
You push the button on joystick 1 to begin the game, but then you have to be in port 2 to move or fire. How odd is that...

I've never owned the original cartridge, so I don't know if the original version uses port 2.
But I do know that even the copy on Sunmark's Multicart #1 uses port 2.

Has anyone happen to have an .exe .com or .xex version of Wizard of Wor that actually uses joystick port #1, instead of 2?

Thanks,
Randy


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wizard of Wor - Joystick Port 2?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 63
Location: France - Paris
Atari Smeghead wrote:
Hi!

Have ya noticed that all of the versions of Wizard of Wor use joystick port #2? Why do ya suppose that is? Seems like an odd bit o' programming.
You push the button on joystick 1 to begin the game, but then you have to be in port 2 to move or fire. How odd is that...

I've never owned the original cartridge, so I don't know if the original version uses port 2.
But I do know that even the copy on Sunmark's Multicart #1 uses port 2.

Has anyone happen to have an .exe .com or .xex version of Wizard of Wor that actually uses joystick port #1, instead of 2?

Thanks,
Randy


I don't understand what to do in this game. I always loose. Anyway, I inverted port 1 and 2. Could you try if it's OK because I didn't change trigge (only direction) ?

Eric


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wizard of Wor - Joystick Port 2?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:46 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:50 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lansing MI
ebiguy wrote:
Anyway, I inverted port 1 and 2. Could you try if it's OK because I didn't change trigge (only direction) ?

Eric


Eric,

You've made progress! :D Now, the player movement uses port one but the fire button is still port 2. Do you think it'll be much of a hassle to get the triggers switched?

Thanks for the quick response,
Randy


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
Anyone have this fixed?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Give this one a try.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wizard of Wor - Joystick Port 2?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:46 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Denver, CO
Atari Smeghead wrote:
Have ya noticed that all of the versions of Wizard of Wor use joystick port #2? Why do ya suppose that is? Seems like an odd bit o' programming.


If I remember right, the arcade version has two joysticks on either side of the cab. The yellow guy is to the right, and the blue guy is to the left. Player One is the yellow guy on the right side. I suppose this is because people preferred it in testing or it worked better for right-handed people or something when they were playing it solo.

Why they would translate this for the Atari 8-bit I have no idea, because the joysticks have long wires and you're not crowded in front of a cab at the same time someone else is. I get that they wanted to be true to the arcade when making the game, but that was sort of a goofy thing to put in, heh.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
Maybe reading the manual helps making things more clear :P



_________________
Better 8 hours at work than not sleep at all.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:50 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 10:13 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Arizona
Funny that a game so simple would even warrant a manual. :wink:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:56 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
I wonder if it had something to do with the way the joystick ports are setup on the 800? Port 1 will be on the left, and port 2 on the right. The player 1 character starts on the right side of the screen.



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
rdemming wrote:
Maybe reading the manual helps making things more clear :P


Elaborate? All it says is what we already know. 1 player uses port 2. Very annoying--hence the hack.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:13 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
TjLaZer wrote:
Elaborate? All it says is what we already know.


Maybe because someone wrote: "I don't understand what to do in this game. I always loose."
I remembered that the website I pointed to, has lots of manuals so I mentioned it. But since I didn't play the game or read the manual, I'm not sure if it actually is helpful.

About the strange joystick port usage. As far as I remember there seemed no standard game port on Commodore 64 games with some games using port 0 and other games port 1. When we played with my cousin's C64 about 20 years ago, we often had to switch joystick ports.

Robert



_________________
Better 8 hours at work than not sleep at all.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: