It is currently Fri Sep 30, 2022 1:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2022 8:37 am 

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2022 10:21 am
Posts: 4
Havent used in a while


when i plug in i get a red screen or a yellow/brown pattern..


no ready prompt....

any idea?

something broken on cart?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2022 1:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1503
Location: netherlands
Can you by-pass it holding option during boot?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2022 10:07 am 

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2022 10:21 am
Posts: 4
mr-atari wrote:
Can you by-pass it holding option during boot?



no, option key still gives the yellow?screen with red/burgandy lines


when i press and hold reset the screen is/red/burgandy let go and straight to the yellow/red lines again


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2022 1:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1503
Location: netherlands
Try to hot-flash it.
Boot without the 8mb a flasher-image content (any 8mb compilation will do fine).
Then insert the cartridge.
This is a tricky bit, 50% chance the computer hangs itself.
But mostly it goes ok.
Then continue flashing the 8mb with this image.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 11:34 am 

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2022 10:21 am
Posts: 4
Tried that as soon as push the cart in I get the yellow screen with maroon bits


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 11:34 am 

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2022 10:21 am
Posts: 4
Older cart so has the socketed chips, if i remove the 2 memory EPROMs..it boots ok…albiet not to atari max..


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead 8mb Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2022 2:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1503
Location: netherlands
ugliestgolf wrote:
Older cart so has the socketed chips, if i remove the 2 memory EPROMs..it boots ok…albiet not to atari max..


I do not know what you mean to say here.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron