It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SpartaDOS X Maxflash option
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
I got both the 8m & 1m Maxflash images of SpartaDOS X. I was wondering what (if any) advantage would be to using 8m instead of the 1m? Could I put more in there or would it matter? Any info and elaboration would be appreciated.

Thanks.



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:19 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
As far as I know they are identical. I read recently (on AtariAge) that they are running out of room on the CAR: device in the 1Mb cart and perhaps the 8Mb cart would allow them to store more utilities on the cart.

I don't believe there will be a method for the end-user to add utilities to the CAR: device themselves, but the SpartaDos X guys will have the final word on that....



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:37 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
With the new help system (MAN.COM) I can see a big advantage to the 8MB cart. It would be very cool to add programs / utilities to the CAR: device.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:15 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Poland
The forthcoming 4.42 release should have the man pages included in the Maxflash 8MB version of SDX for easy access.



_________________
CP/M for Indus GT and clones http://trub.atari8.info/index.php?ref=cpm_en
SpartaDOS X Upgrade Project http://sdx.atari8.info
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:04 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 124
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
awesome!
fill that cartridge, we are at the point now where most of the revisions should be fixing small glitches and bugs that can now be detected and reported by the average user!
I hope a disk compatible version is released as well to insure it spreads and gains wide spread adoption but with the explanation that the true potential is released in the cartridge form with the flashing soft distro included. I have flashed 2 one meg carts with this now and it looks darn good. It even behaved with the black box! I have already purchased an extra 8 meg cart for the impending 4.42 release.

trub wrote:
The forthcoming 4.42 release should have the man pages included in the Maxflash 8MB version of SDX for easy access.



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:56 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
trub wrote:
The forthcoming 4.42 release should have the man pages included in the Maxflash 8MB version of SDX for easy access.


Excellent! I was hoping for this. I might just get a dedicated 8MB cart for this. I'm really glad I got my RTC clone now.

Stephen Anderson


Last edited by Stephen on Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 4.42
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 7:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
trub wrote:
The forthcoming 4.42 release should have the man pages included in the Maxflash 8MB version of SDX for easy access.


Cool! I flashed an 8mbit 4.41 cart a few mins ago... looks real nice!



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: easy way to reflash DOS boot code maxflash cartridges
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:00 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 124
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
I found a way to reflash the spartx carts without pushing the cart in the already running Atari :)

1 load the maxflashspartax atr image into either APE or your D1:
2 put spartaxmax 1 or 8 meg in atari
3 turn on atari
4 type basic at D1: prompt
5 type B. or BYE at ready prompt
6 hold option and press reset at selftest and continue holding option

it will come up detected and ask if your sure! say yes now you can go from 4.39 to 4.41 to 4.42 no problems!

any thing that lets you get to the selftest diag screen seems to let you do this!



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:06 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Poland
Hmm, what about typing COLD /N at the command prompt ?



_________________
CP/M for Indus GT and clones http://trub.atari8.info/index.php?ref=cpm_en
SpartaDOS X Upgrade Project http://sdx.atari8.info
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:17 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 124
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
yes, that will work from the new sparta. I just posted what will work for anything that you can do to get to the selftest. sparta is not the only one that grabs to the boot of the cart changing the option key behaviour of the maxflash carts loader. sort of a catch all :D



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:28 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
The problem is that there is no maxflash loader when you flash the cartridge with a SDX image! Same problem exists with some other products for the flashcart (Wrathchild's Gauntlet version for flash had this issue... might be fixed now.)



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: no loader shmoader!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 124
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
yep, I see that. I think that is just fine since you can still get to the cartridge is already installed and can be reflashed condition on the SDX cart. I can't say that for all images.
Some other images are not persistant so they load just fine and work you press reset, you get the disk boot and can flash so that is fine.
Some won't let you do that but if you can get to selftest. Your golden.
I forget what it was but I had to resort to the hot swap just once. It might have been the program you mentioned. I did not like it but I did it. All was fine.



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:17 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
I've had to do it many times, either because the image did not have the normal "option" to bypass the cart and allow a disk boot, or the cartridge didn't get flashed properly. No problems, just like your experience. It can be annoying to get just that right angle so that machine doesn't crash, though!



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:40 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
Stephen wrote:
trub wrote:
The forthcoming 4.42 release should have the man pages included in the Maxflash 8MB version of SDX for easy access.


Excellent! I was hoping for this. I might just get a dedicated 8MB cart for this. I'm really glad I got my RTC clone now.

Stephen Anderson


Damn - the 8MB is not compatible with the RTC clock. 4.42 is really nice with the built in help system. I guess I will stick with the 1Mb version and just keep an ATR of the help system as drive #8.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
Stephen wrote:
Damn - the 8MB is not compatible with the RTC clock. 4.42 is really nice with the built in help system. I guess I will stick with the 1Mb version and just keep an ATR of the help system as drive #8.

Stephen Anderson


Why not have both! :D



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron