It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Size Limit on 8MB cart.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:13 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Ohio
Sorry if I seem a little ignorant, but what is the size limit of the 8Mb cart. I am using Make Menu to prepare and test my images so that I'm ready when my SIO2USB adapter arrives, but...

...well I seem to be limited to a 1Mb cart, and yet I'm seeing uploads here that are much larger than that. So I'm wondering...

...am I missing something?

Pardon my ignorance, I'm new.



_________________
Experimental Musick, DOOM, Subversive Influence, Fascism, Social Engineering, Yahshua, Console Hacking, 8-bit era, etc.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:19 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Hi,

Well, 8Mb is 8 Megabits, so 1 Megabyte. Is that what you mean?



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:05 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:13 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Ohio
Aghh yes, I forgot the math between bytes and bits....

...So I've basically got a 1MegaByte limit.

My SIO2USB came intoday, and I'm quite impressed all around, though I am wondering why some people on here are uploading Package to flash your Multi-cart with that are over 1 Megabyte if the 8Mb cart can't hold that much.

Again, sorry for my ignorance, I did read the docs, but didn't find the answers to my questions there, though I may have mis-read or overlooked something.



_________________
Experimental Musick, DOOM, Subversive Influence, Fascism, Social Engineering, Yahshua, Console Hacking, 8-bit era, etc.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:31 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Well, the only thing I can think is that you are looking at the flashing ATR, which sometimes may be over 1MB, since it will also include code to boot the atari and run the flashing program itself.

Most of the images are smaller, since the flashing software will only contain data for those banks that actually need to be flashed.

I hope that makes sense.



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:13 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Ohio
Yes it does, thank you.



_________________
Experimental Musick, DOOM, Subversive Influence, Fascism, Social Engineering, Yahshua, Console Hacking, 8-bit era, etc.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron