It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Trapping Reset on a bank switching cart
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:32 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:16 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Buffalo, New York
I am in the process of making a few games to run on the 128k Atarimax carts. A problem I am having is trapping the reset. I converted one game over from a 128k XEGS supercart by copying the bank that resided in RAM to at $A000 to $8000, changed all the addresses of course. On a XEGS it just re-runs the Cart Init addr at $BFFE. However I do not believe hitting reset changes a Maxcart to Bank 0 to where the Cart Startup Routines are at. I am looking for a simple solution to this problem.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 1:37 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
There is no reset signal to the cartridge hardware, so the cartridge will be unaware that the system was reset unless it was by a power fail.

The Maxflash 1mbit carts initialize to bank zero, the Maxflash 8mbit carts initialize to bank 128.

You will need to locate a small amount of code outside of ROM and send the reset there, then do:

STA $D500
JMP ($BFFE)

If this program requires a 64k or 128k computer to run anyway, you could also move the OS to ram and just do STA $D500 somewhere in the OS warmstart code.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron