It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Updating the 32-in-1 OS with an 8 MB flash cart?
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:20 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 325
IIRC, this came up once before, but I believe it was prior to the MaxFlash Studio.

Is it feasible to update the 32-in-1 flash module using an 8 Mb cart and (hopefully) using the Maxflash Studio to make it somewhat easier?

After I get several OS's modified, it would be nice to have them included in my 32-in-1.

-Larry


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the 32-in-1 OS with an 8 MB flash cart?
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 8:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Arizona USA
Larry read this thread----- viewtopic.php?f=3&t=433 -----.

I bought a dedicated 8Mb cartridge just for this purpose. Don't forget to double the configurator ROM.

copy /b config.rom+config(b).rom 32n1os.rom should give you a valid 8Mb rom to flash with the Studio.



_________________
RoyE
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the 32-in-1 OS with an 8 MB flash cart?
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 7:40 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 325
Hi Roy-
Thanks for the link. I've bookmarked both of these links.

Did you use the Studio? It looks like from the date of your posts that they were pre-Studio. (?)

Do you double the configurator ROM because you are programming 2 chips in the 8-Mb cart?

-Larry

roye wrote:
Larry read this thread----- viewtopic.php?f=3&t=433 -----.

I bought a dedicated 8Mb cartridge just for this purpose. Don't forget to double the configurator ROM.

copy /b config.rom+config(b).rom 32n1os.rom should give you a valid 8Mb rom to flash with the Studio.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the 32-in-1 OS with an 8 MB flash cart?
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 9:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Arizona USA
thewhiz wrote:
Hi Roy-
Thanks for the link. I've bookmarked both of these links.

Did you use the Studio? It looks like from the date of your posts that they were pre-Studio. (?)


Yes. I did this all pre-Studio. But the Studio should be able to do this instead of using the perl script.

thewhiz wrote:
Do you double the configurator ROM because you are programming 2 chips in the 8-Mb cart?

-Larry

Yes. This way you don't have to quess at which chip was flashed, and since I have two 1200XL with the 32-n-1 os adapters I get both upgraded at the sametime. I put the older OS chips back into the 8Mb cartridge ready to be used again for re-flash. I even bought a chip puller to make the process easier.



_________________
RoyE
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron