It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 
 Post subject: flying in the dark
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:31 am 

I just bought the APE SIO2PC USB interface and APE v3.0.11 (which I believe is the latest version), and I am trying to find out if there are any instructions out there somewhere. The only documentation I've been able to come across is for v1.17, which is completely out dated. I've e-mailed the author but have not received any response.
I finally did get everything up and running (after a trying experience with the drivers), and I figured out how to boot my 800XL from APE. I made a disk image of one of my old floppy disks with ProSystem, but I cannot find, let alone load it with APE.
I'm also trying to find a way to open some of my old games/programs using Windows, once they are converted to disk images.
I'm very new to this old school to new school thing, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Added note: Does ProSystem work with the APE SIO2PC USB interface? The only way I can get it to work is to launch it from APE. When I try to launch from the ProSystem icon I get the message "cannot connect to COM1. check settings, even though it's already configured to COM1.

I also am having problems creating a blank disk image with APE. After selecting the proper drive (1050, enhanced density...etc) and clicking "create", the create new image screen pops up and I get stonewalled. There doesn't appear to be any way to input a filename or any way to proceed. Again, I am working off some instructions I found that are at least 7 years old, and from a much older version of APE....I believe it's APE 98.