It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems with self-created ATR images
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:52 am
Posts: 5
Location: St. Pete, FL
Just got my SIO2PC USB adapter and have been experimenting with running ATR images from my PC on my trusty old Atari 800XL. Very cool!

I found three old floppy disks (I think the rest are still in my parents' basement somewhere ... will have to try and recover those next time I'm up north) and tried creating ATR images of them.

My image of PaperClip (word processor, original commercial floppy) seems to work just fine. The other two disks are old SpartaDOS-formatted floppies with various utilities on them (BobTerm, DeTerm, Omnicom, etc.). When using these ATR images and issuing commands (like DIR, or trying to run COM files), I get random errors like "Error -- 138" (timeout), "Error -- 139" (NAK), or "Error -- 140" (serial bus error) or sometimes the 800XL just locks until I press BREAK a few times. Re-issuing the command sometimes works. Programs (like BobTerm) may hang while loading, or may load and then hang randomly later.

When running off the physical (original) disks, everything seems to work fine. So I suspect a problem with the ATR images. Could it be due to bad sectors on the original floppies (they are almost 20 years old) or something else? I've tried creating them with ProSystem and the APE/MYCOPIER method and they seem to both exhibit the same problems.

Any ideas/suggestions? Thanks!



_________________
Atari 800XL (Rambo XL) with two 1050 floppy drives
P:R: Connection, KoalaPad
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems with self-created ATR images
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:02 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Older/original versions of Spartados support "ultraspeed", but cannot actually handle the baud rate used by most speeder programs and new versions of Spartados, it will randomly lose bytes while doing disk i/o.

To use these versions of Spartados you would need to set the "preferred rate" in the USB adapter setup to 0x10, or maybe 0x0A. If I recall correctly anything lower than NTSC 0x08 will cause the older spartados i/o handler to lose track of some bytes.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems with self-created ATR images
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:52 am
Posts: 5
Location: St. Pete, FL
Thanks for the tip! Sure enough, setting the Preferred Rate to 0x0A seems to have resolved all of the issues!



_________________
Atari 800XL (Rambo XL) with two 1050 floppy drives
P:R: Connection, KoalaPad
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: