It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Atarimax SIO2PC USB Universal Adapter Now Available!
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 7:51 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Atarimax SIO2PC USB Universal Adapter Now Available!

Image

I happy to announce the USB version of the SIO2PC Universal Interface is now available!

The USB interface has been designed to implement all of the features normally available when using APE with a SIO2PC Universal adapter.

Additionally, the USB interface allows for a few new features, including:

:arrow: True Plug-and-Play support, just plug in the interface and APE will find it.
:arrow: High speed SIO support for ALL Pokey baud rates. (Video of Pokey's highest baud rate in action!)
:arrow: Native disk drive rate support, including support for high speed upgrades.
:arrow: High speed SIO support in ProSystem. (Video of ProSystem reading a disk w/ Happy 1050)
:arrow: Cassette motor control support.
:arrow: Direct state/FSK capture and playback of cassette or other SIO data. (Working but still in beta testing)
:arrow: Future support for use of other SIO pins. (Interrupt, Clock, etc).

Pre-ordering begins now, with shipments starting 06/04/2007.

Pre-order pricing is $59.99 per kit for the first 100 interfaces. (about 44 Euros)

For complete product information and the order form go to:

http://www.atarimax.com/sio2pc/documentation/

I also recommended reading at least the introduction to the USB documentation before ordering, which goes into further detail about software compatibility and differences from RS232 SIO2PC.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: SIO2PC Universal Interface (USB Edition)
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:17 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
I can't believe there is not some buzz about this...

- Does Maxflash work with this version?
- Is the trial version of APE sufficient to run Maxflash?
- Is the trial version of APE time limited or just a lite version?

I've barely used a drive since getting my 8m megacart. I'd like to try my hand at creating megacart images.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SIO2PC Universal Interface (USB Edition)
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:58 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
WizWor wrote:
I can't believe there is not some buzz about this...

- Does Maxflash work with this version?


Yes, you can load the Maxflash programming images using the USB interface. You should be able to do anything with the USB version of the interface that you can with the RS232 version, and then some.

Quote:
- Is the trial version of APE sufficient to run Maxflash?


The trial version will read and write to ATR images fine, so you can use it for any Maxflash programming image.

Quote:
- Is the trial version of APE time limited or just a lite version?

I've barely used a drive since getting my 8m megacart. I'd like to try my hand at creating megacart images.


The trial version is not time limited, its up to you to decide if you want to support the program or just want/need the extra features in the registered version. :)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SIO2PC Universal Interface (USB Edition)
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 4:26 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
classics wrote:
The trial version is not time limited, its up to you to decide if you want to support the program or just want/need the extra features in the registered version. :)

Steve

Good point. The program is certainly worth more than $50 to me. Sign me up for SN:000001 ;)

SN:000001 is autographed, right?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SIO2PC Universal Interface (USB Edition)
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 4:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
Now, let's have some buzz!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:40 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
I got one of these and an 8MB cart this evening. I've been on registered APE for a year now I think. Well worth the time & money. My entire childhood collection is now archived and I am back on BBSes again.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 1:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
Stephen wrote:
I got one of these and an 8MB cart this evening. I've been on registered APE for a year now I think. Well worth the time & money. My entire childhood collection is now archived and I am back on BBSes again.

Stephen Anderson

I guess, then, that you have a serial SIO2PC? I'm not sure I'd have gotten the USB model if I had the serial. What was your thinking on this? Is this your first cart? If so, you are in for a treat.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 8:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:27 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Boot Factory BBS
WizWor wrote:
I guess, then, that you have a serial SIO2PC? I'm not sure I'd have gotten the USB model if I had the serial. What was your thinking on this? Is this your first cart? If so, you are in for a treat.


I also have the serial APE interface as well as APE and PROSYS cables. I ordered the USB interface because my happy drives will operate in hi-speed mode under PROSYS using the USB cable whereas they only operate standard speed using the PROSYS cable.



_________________
--- bf2k+
WEB: http://bf.amfband.com - BBS: telnet://bfbbs.no-ip.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SIO2PC Universal Interface (USB Edition)
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 1:52 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
WizWor wrote:
Good point. The program is certainly worth more than $50 to me. Sign me up for SN:000001 ;)

SN:000001 is autographed, right?


Thanks. :D

I didn't think of numbering them though, probably should have. :)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 2:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
I was wondering where you get the SIO connectors. Is there a finite supply? Are they salvaged? I have an 800 with a SIO cable directly connected to the main board. I have never opened it, but I wondered if I could simply solder a new SIO connector in place.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 12:53 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
WizWor wrote:
Stephen wrote:
I got one of these and an 8MB cart this evening. I've been on registered APE for a year now I think. Well worth the time & money. My entire childhood collection is now archived and I am back on BBSes again.

Stephen Anderson

I guess, then, that you have a serial SIO2PC? I'm not sure I'd have gotten the USB model if I had the serial. What was your thinking on this? Is this your first cart? If so, you are in for a treat.


Not my1st cart - I have a standalone 1MB Flash, and a MyIDE + 1MB Flash..

The reason I got a 2nd SIO2PC is the USB version is much faster, and it will also work with my laptop. It will also give me the ability to test stuff on my Ataris down at the workbench.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 10:16 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
WizWor wrote:
I was wondering where you get the SIO connectors. Is there a finite supply? Are they salvaged? I have an 800 with a SIO cable directly connected to the main board. I have never opened it, but I wondered if I could simply solder a new SIO connector in place.


Most of them are from salvaged equipment. You could remove the cable and add a jack from a dead 1050 or some other peripheral.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 1:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
classics wrote:
Most of them are from salvaged equipment. You could remove the cable and add a jack from a dead 1050 or some other peripheral.

Steve

That's what I guessed. I have six 1050s and an 850. If I ever acquire a working 810, I'll probably cannibalize one of these so I can showcase the 800/810 -- who needs six 1050s anyway?

Continuing to hijack this thread, will APE know if the attached drive is Happy enhanced? I think I have two happy, two US Doubler, and two standard drives. I can tell which are the standard because they do not run the latest floppies I made (ten years ago). I was wondering if there was a DOS or utility that would sort out the rest.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 6:55 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
WizWor wrote:
Continuing to hijack this thread, will APE know if the attached drive is Happy enhanced? I think I have two happy, two US Doubler, and two standard drives. I can tell which are the standard because they do not run the latest floppies I made (ten years ago). I was wondering if there was a DOS or utility that would sort out the rest.


ProSystem can tell you what upgrade the drives have.

Just attach the a drive by itself, turn it off/on (to clear it) and then run the 'Interrogate Drive' function.

It should be able to identify if it has a Happy 1050, US Doubler or if its a stock 1050.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Woo Hoo!
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 7:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 43
Location: danville, nh
Thanks. Can't wait...June 4th...can't wait.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron