It is currently Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:25 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:59 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:12 am
Posts: 4
Hi

I'm late to the game with and old MyIDE plus FLASH cartridge from 2005 that I got in another deal wit lots of old Atari software. Now I finally decided to try it and also bought a 64MB DiskOnModule for this purpose.
From the beginning there was an older software, 3.2F, and I also noticed freeze and stability issues that I was hoping a re-flash would sort out.
And this version wasn't the same as described in the documentation I decided to flash it with the newer version.

Downloaded the 3.5F version from this forum and flashed the cart (with the ATR loaded via USB/SIO) successfully.
Unfortunately the freeze/hang issue got worse with the new version. Usually it hangs in the root menu after just a few seconds. You can see when the scrolling cursor stops and then the menu doesn't respond to any input. Sometimes I manage to go to the next menu, but as soon as I select any of the applications it hangs.

For the record the computer (130XE) is working fine with other game cartridges, so I would assume that both the connector and computer is good.

I suspect that there might be a timing issue rather than a flash memory issue (since the programming goes fine without any errors). I have unplugged and replugged both the flash and SPLD circuits, but no improvement.
Can the SPLD be re-programmed? Are there other things to check? Or should I just declare this unit as more or less dead in the water?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:03 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:12 am
Posts: 4
Added some screenshots.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1312
Location: netherlands
viewtopic.php?p=9942#p9942

This is really an oldie....
The room for the 2 logic chips was only on the first run.

Try the link above, that is the latest version.
Also dig into the stability thread, page 4 has some info on how to mod your PCB.

Problem is the DOM.
Why not IDEtoCF and use a trancend 80x 1gb.
These are the best for the old myide-1

Succes,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:22 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:12 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for your reply and input. I'll try that other version and go through the other posts.

By the way, the DOM wasn't connected when I experienced the issues reported. But I will for sure consider an IDE->CF solution if I get this working properly.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1312
Location: netherlands
OK, if the DOM was not connected:
There is a problem loading the OS from FLASH.
First try the 4.8 version and see if that boots, also without the DOM.

In the boot-screen some items are RED, since no IDE-device can be detected.
Press/Hold OPTION and check if you get into BASIC.

This new flash-content uses the atarimax-menu.
Created with the (free) atarimax studio software.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE plus FLASH cart freeze/hang issues
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:57 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:12 am
Posts: 4
Perhaps there is something wrong with my 130XE computer after all - when I tried to flash the cartridge I got a verify error and "Programming operation FAILED!".
Did however manage to flash it successfully with a 600XL machine.
This version seems to work on my 130XE and I'm able to navigate the menu and start some applications. Now I just need to go through the documentation and learn how to use this thing, before I can verify if it is fully working or not.
Thanks so far for all help.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron