It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:14 am




 Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:43 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
mr-atari wrote:
don't do the JSR HDINIT. Just set CBFA, CBFE, CBFF anf JMP E477.

there could be one problem.... when does your program takes
control? after the coldstart has finished or before. if it starts
before, you need to set the system-status finished. clear $244.

Try your program loaded by DOS. Then your system-status is ok.


Hi Sijmen,

I tried it from dos and it worked fine. My program runs from the flashcart, so whatever state the computer is in when an exe runs from the flashcart menu. Strange thing is that booting worked in the last build before this one.

I haven't tried setting $244 or $9, but I will try that when I get a chance.

Quote:
I have to think this over, give me some days to re-think.
The power-up routine was very tricky to get it right ;-


I'll try to work around whatever you are doing to get things going with your boot routine.

Quote:
So I guess, hdinit isn't loaded yet (you are still at coldstart
power-up).


The HD is definitely init-ed, since my program checks for the HDINIT value at the $CBFx address and doesn't run otherwise.

Quote:
2 ways to fix. 1/end powerupfirst and start your
program using the vectors at $a,$b and setting bit 0 at $9
2/do hdinit, then set CFBA,CBFE,CBFF, and JMP E477.


Let me try that and get back to you!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1549
Location: netherlands
Hi Shawn,

I have been thinking about your little problem. But you have to
contact Steve for the answer :o

The MyIDE-routines protect the setting ALWAYS except for 2 cases.
1/ If HDINIT is not set and a drive is detected as READY (D50F not minus)
2/ If the 1 of the 3 validation bytes are incorrect.
On all other resets the values at CBFA-CBFF are protected.

Now, for case 1, we know the answer. Your software only runs if HDINIT is true.
For case 2: These values are set way before the cartridge is init (start of MAXFLASH)
$5C, $93, $25 at locations $33D-$33F.
Ask Steve if he erases these values to be sure of a coldstart next reset?

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:58 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Hi Sijmen,

I've come back to this. Here's what I've discovered:

The program works fine from DOS, but not from the flashcart. This is something that changed in the latest revision of the bootrom.

$33D-$33F are set to $5C, $93, $25. I've cleared $244. No go. Basically what is happening is that the hard drive isn't really initialized properly when my program is entered from the flashcart.

HDPRES = 169, HDBITS = 0, and when run from DOS, HDPRES = 1, HDBITS = $C1. Even if I call the init routine at $e483 it doesn't change these values.

Any insights into why this is happening with the latest MyIDE bootrom (3.4F) ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:09 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1549
Location: netherlands
I think Steve can give us some light here.
Perhaps he uses the same locations to store his menu parameters....

HDPRESS=169 is a strange value, not set by me :?:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:27 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1042
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
What memory location is getting changed?

I can look through the menu sources and make sure I'm not clobbering it.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:01 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Even if I call the HD init routine in my program these values are not changed. Steve's menu routine is gone at this point. There may be something else interferring with the init routine, or other myide locations perhaps?

Running from DOS is perfectly fine.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:33 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Any news on this issue, Sijmen?

Is there anything I can do to help you troubleshoot the issue? I can query any OS locations, for instance, or MyIDE locations at the time my program is run from the flashcart.

Let me know, as of the last version of the bootrom (3.4f), none of my programs will work running from the flashcart. From DOS, they work beautifully.

Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1549
Location: netherlands
No news, No time, Sorry. (Holidays).
Locations CBFA-CBFF are somehow changed.
Even shift-control-R (reload) does not work from Stevens Menu.....

No idea what is the problem. Running from dos: 100% OK. strange....


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:59 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
I created a simple test program that just displays $CBFA-CBFF and $33D-$33F.

Here's what I found:

From the flashcart exe menu:

$CBFA: 0 0 0 0 0
$33D: 5C, 93, 25

If I enter the menu and then press Ctrl-Shift-R, and then run the test program:

$CBFA: 0 1 E1 1 0 0
$33D: 5C 93 25

There's still some testing that needs to be done... but my next step is to see what the flashcart code is doing, and try my own programs doing the reload.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron