It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:26 pm




 Page 1 of 4 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:59 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
Hi,

After some problems (http://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1023), finally my MyIDE Internal 4.3 in my Atari seems to work. Now I would like to save some games to the flash module.

My first limitation is that I don't have a regular Atari disk drive. I only have an IDE-USB adapter that I use to connect my flash IDE module. I would like to use myidetool on Linux to upload the games. Once done, I would like to boot Atari and have a list of games to choose from.

To check that my Atari boots correctly from MyIDE, I created in FDISK one partition. On Linux I copied MyDOS to the first partition (myidetool /dev/sdb -p 1 -w mydos453.atr), and I hoped that Atari would boot MyDOS, but MyIDE loads something and than I see trash on screen.

What would be the easiest way to save the games and have them ready to play?


Thanks,
Irek


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:31 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Hi Irek,

For playing disk-based games I would suggest to use image-mode.
Disks (ATR) are stored as images on a separate space on the IDE-module.
You need to go into FDISK and activate image-mode.
When set, you can enter image-mode when holding START at bootup.
Manual: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=490

Post about 4.3:
Quote:
"Brand new image loading routine"
Hold START during bootup/reset. Remember to dis/enable BASIC.
A screen like this will appear.

0001<CBN>name_29_characters S

4-digit hex-number (joystick up/down left/right, fire=boot)
< copy from image to floppy (press fire)
C erase name (press fire)
B boot (press fire)
N save name (press fire)
> copy from floppy to image (press fire), enter name first
"name_29_characters" (keyboard, joystick left/right, NO function keys supported!)
s Density of image. changeable s->m->d->s (fire) Only change this if you need to!
To confirm changes in density, then do N 'save name'
Please be patient while copying DD disks to images. The first 3 sectors take long to read!


Games you can find here:
http://atari.fandal.cz/games.php

Games as EXE/COM (or XEX when downloaded) can best be put on a normal logical (example D2:) partition and loaded
with pdos (picodos)

Try this mydos, it's unconfigured (attached)
If booting still is a problem, please contact atarimax about the problems you have with the module.

Later,
Sijmen.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:39 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
Hi,

Thank you for your help. I already tried the image-mode, but it didn't work, so I created this thread. My problem was the broken START key... My keyboard is really broken. I will fix it with some elastic glue that conducts electricity, like here: http://www.raphnet.net/divers/atari130xe/index_en.php#problem2

In FDISK I set the hi-byte of image-mode to 1. Then with myidetool on Linux I copied the following game:

http://atarionline.pl/arch/%23/3d24/3d2 ... emo%29.atr

to image 1 with:

myidetool /dev/sdb -i 1 -w 3d24.atr

To get to the image mode at boot, I had to short-circuit the keyboard connectors on the motherboard (i.e. pressing the START key). I chose image 1 and I pressed the fire key. The result was that I got to BASIC. Is the ATR file broken or is there something else wrong?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:16 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
Try this mydos, it's unconfigured (attached)
If booting still is a problem, please contact atarimax about the problems you have with the module.


Thank you for the version of mydos. I thought I would give it a try today, but my keyboard is now unusable. It will take me a few days to fix it, and then I will get back with the report whether your version of mydos worked for me.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
I tried the 3d24.atr you linked and it works fine on my 800xl with 4.3I MyIDE-OS /w harddrive.
Loaded from image-space.
You need to disable basic at boot to run the game (otherwise it does not load).
Luckily the MyIDE-OS disables basic at boot as default ;-)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
The HomeSoft archive has 379 disk images with games ready to use with the MyIDE image feature.
Use the MyIDE Drive Manager to write them on a CF card using a PC.

Robert



_________________
Better 8 hours at work than not sleep at all.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:28 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
rdemming wrote:
The HomeSoft archive has 379 disk images with games ready to use with the MyIDE image feature.
Use the MyIDE Drive Manager to write them on a CF card using a PC.

Robert


Thanks! Cool! I will have a look and surely I will download something.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:35 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
I tried the 3d24.atr you linked and it works fine on my 800xl with 4.3I MyIDE-OS /w harddrive.
Loaded from image-space.
You need to disable basic at boot to run the game (otherwise it does not load).
Luckily the MyIDE-OS disables basic at boot as default ;-)


I don't really know how to disable BASIC. I looked into the MyIDE manual, and didn't see it mentioned there.

The manual of myidetool mentiones how to enable and disable BASIC, but I'm not sure its relevant. Anyway, I used myidetool, to disable basic for the slot with the game.

iszczesniak@dell:~/Desktop$ ./myidetool /dev/sdb -IL
MyIDE Tool V0.30
(c) 2006-2007 by Matthias Reichl <hias@horus.com>

Image Manager information:
   cat  stat  slot# dn name
[game] [S  ]     1: SD 3d24


This is the information about partitions:

iszczesniak@dell:~/Desktop$ ./myidetool /dev/sdb -l
MyIDE Tool V0.30
(c) 2006-2007 by Matthias Reichl <hias@horus.com>

MyIDE partition table:
1009 cylinders 4 heads 62 sectors (248 sectors per cyl)
Image space: first cylinder: 256  cylinders per slot: 5  total slots: 150
partitions: 0 option byte: 00001000 drive bits: 00000000
part active drv start   end dns sectors
1    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
2    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
3    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
4    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
5    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
6    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
7    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0
8    no     D0:     0     0 SD        0


And this is the information on image slots:

iszczesniak@dell:~/Desktop$ ./myidetool /dev/sdb -L
MyIDE Tool V0.30
(c) 2006-2007 by Matthias Reichl <hias@horus.com>

Image slot information:
 slot# dn name
    1: SD 3d24
  150: DD MyIDE Image Manager Config


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:30 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Do NOT hold OPTION at bootup will disable BASIC.
This is the default for the MyIDE-OS.

So when you boot with START down, you enter image-menu with BASIC disabled ;-)

I see you have enabled the START-key as default in the option-byte.
In that case, you powerup and enter image-mode directly.
Without touching any console keys:BASIC is disabled.
Meaning: 3D24 should work.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:42 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
I see you have enabled the START-key as default in the option-byte.
In that case, you powerup and enter image-mode directly.
Without touching any console keys:BASIC is disabled.
Meaning: 3D24 should work.


This is exactly my setting. When I power my Atari on, I get to the image-mode, without pressing any key, and I see on the screen

0001<CBN>


In the image-mode I press the fire button, and then I see:

MyIDE-4.3I

WaitForIDE


And that's it. It stays there.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
That is not correct, you should read:
0001<CBN>3d24                                     S


Before pressing fire, when you move the joystick up/down do the numbers cycle?
When selecting 0150, you should read:
0150<CBN>MyIDE Image Manager Config    D


fire = coldstart and boot this image as D1:
That's why the new welcome message and wait for myide notice


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:16 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
Before pressing fire, when you move the joystick up/down do the numbers cycle?


No, they don't. When the number is 0001, and I move the joystick up, then I can see the numbers change very quickly from 0001 to 0002, and then back. It's so quick that I can see 1 and 2 overlayed. And Atari doesn't react when I press the fire button.

What can I do to debug the problem? Maybe my Atari is just broken, not only the keyboard, but something else too. Before replacing the original ROM with MyIDE, I ran the self tests for sound, memory and keyboard, and they passed (back then the keyboard was still all right).


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
The up/down scrolling means the IDE can't read the next slot.
In other words there still is a serious problem with your interface or atari.
But with abad keyboard it's hardly impossible to trouble shoot this......

Most problems resulting in IDE-instability are:
PSU or bad-connection related.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:19 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
The up/down scrolling means the IDE can't read the next slot.
In other words there still is a serious problem with your interface or atari.
But with abad keyboard it's hardly impossible to trouble shoot this......

Most problems resulting in IDE-instability are:
PSU or bad-connection related.

Later,
Sijmen.


I got a new Atari. This time it's 65 XE with a working keyboard.

I installed the MyIDE module, and turned on the Atari. Unfortunately, the effect is the same as with the previous Atari. I tried also the new PSU that I got with the Atari, then the old PSU, and the effect is the same.

Maybe the MyIDE interface is broken, maybe I'm doing something wrong. Please have a look at the attached picture of the motherboard for my wireing and the symbold of ICs.

I would appreciate any help. Can I somehow debug this problem?


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE, myidetool and games
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Hmmm, that is odd.

Can you send me the first 32 bytes in sector 0, read on the PC with a sector-editor?

-Did you try also the hookup atarimax suggest in there manual?
http://www.atarimax.com/myide/documenta ... /65xe.html

-Did you try a separate PSU for the 5volt to the transcent-module?
(Any PC-psu will do fine)

-Stupid question: You didn't remove the power to pin20 jumper, have you?

I have the strong feeling there is something wrong with your interface.
Perhaps you should contact Steve.

Sorry for the problems you have.
Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron