It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:07 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MyDOS question
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:52 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
Hi Folks,

As you probably know, I'm not a MyDOS user, but today I thought: why not give it a try.

I'm dealing with some kind of problem, I don't understand.

1. I write the DOS files to the 16MB partition. This works great. I can boot MyDOS.

2. I can make and pick directories. This works great.

3. As soon as I copy a disk from sio to one of these directories, the fun is gone. The partition won't boot again.

I found out this happens only on the disk I want to copy are files with the name dos.sys and dup.sys

Is this a bug in MyDOS?

I could understand this problem when I copy to the root dir of my 16MB partition, but I'm copying this disk to a directory, so I don't understand why MyDOS is making any changes to the boot sector as soon there is a DOS.SYS copied to a directory.

It's complicated to copy files each apart, in stead of using *.*

Does anyone know this problem, and is there a solution?

I'm using MyDOS 4.53/4-

I guess that's the newest version?

Thanks for any support.
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 6:18 am
Posts: 69
I'm not having any luck with MyDos too but I haven't seen what you have ran into.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:23 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1319
Location: netherlands
You can not copy DOS and DUP from disk to disk!

MyDOS creates a custom version for each disk.
That's why you need to do O (configure) first before you write DOS to a disk.
DOS and DUP for a 16Mb DD disk is different then for a standard SD disk....

All about MyDOS (+manuals)
http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/mydos.htm

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:48 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
The problem is that my English is not good enough to explain what I mean.

I'l try again to explain.

I have a WORKING 16MB MyDOS partition.
It boots, it works 100% ok.

I make on this working partition a directory named BOBTERM

It still works great.

I move to this directory BOBTERM, so D: = BOBTERM

I have a disk in my 1050 (Drive D2:) labelled "BOBTERM"

I copy this disk with option C (*.*) to D: (the BOBTERM DIR)

The problem is that on this bobterm disk in my 1050 a dos.sys and a dup.sys are written.

and what happens? As soons as these files are written to the D:BOBTERM dir, the myDOS partition won't boot again!

OK. I can imagine when you copy those files to the ROOT directory, it makes sense the partition won't boot again.

But in my case these dos.sys/dup.sys are copied to a whole different directory, and mydos still refuses to boot.

solution

I found a solution too.

When I do [c]opy

I should do it like this:

D2:*.*,D: /S

With the /S thing it does not copy any .sys file.
Still a boring solution, because on most real diskettes programs have the name 'autorun.sys' and these files aren't copied neither.

another solution

[C]
D2:*.*,D: /Q

Now myDos asks for every file if you want it to be copied or not.
Nice, but slow, because you have to wait for every file before it is copied.


Conclusion

MyDOS gets confused as soon as it writes a DOS.SYS file (even when it is in a sub-directory). In my opinion this is a bug. Even when you LOCK your bootable mydos system files in the root, this problem is still there.


perhaps someone knows a solution.
thanks a lot.

Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:46 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:49 am
Posts: 187
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Hi Marius!
Sysop*Marius wrote:
MyDOS gets confused as soon as it writes a DOS.SYS file (even when it is in a sub-directory). In my opinion this is a bug. Even when you LOCK your bootable mydos system files in the root, this problem is still there.

It's similar with DOS 2.x (just tested it with DOS 2.5). As soon as you create a DOS.SYS file, the DOS writes the whole DOS.SYS plus the boot-sectors. If you then write more data to this file, it's appended to the end of the DOS.SYS file (and will probably mess it up).

In Basic, try this:
OPEN #1,8,0,"D:DOS.SYS"
CLOSE #1

Then go to DOS and have a look at the directory: the file isn't just 1 sector, but 37 (in DOS 2.5) or 35 (MYDOS).

You can also try this:
OPEN #1,8,0,"D:DOS.SYS"
FOR I=1 TO 100:?#1,"HIAS WAS HERE":NEXT I
CLOSE #1

You'll get a 57 (DOS 2.5) or 55 (MYDOS) sector DOS.SYS file.

I've tried booting both disks (just with the DOS.SYS file, but without DUP.SYS) into BASIC and this worked fine.

Maybe the problem only occurs in combination wiith a DUP.SYS or AUTORUN.SYS.

so long,

Hias


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:37 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 6:18 am
Posts: 69
Quote:
another solution

[C]
D2:*.*,D: /Q

Now myDos asks for every file if you want it to be copied or not.
Nice, but slow, because you have to wait for every file before it is copied.



WOW, I had no idea! 8) I'm just learning so much about MyDOS, that can fix the timing issue the XF551 has with MyDOS! :wink:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:08 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
walter_j64bit wrote:

WOW, I had no idea! 8) I'm just learning so much about MyDOS, that can fix the timing issue the XF551 has with MyDOS! :wink:


Do you have this problem also on BeWeDos (or sparta?) or only on MyDOS?

Perhaps you have made a configuration mistake? I have had a XF551 in the past (unfortunately it was defect very soon) and I can not remember any problem with it at all. (Except for the fact I could not write to backside like the 1050's can... but that has another reason).

Good luck
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:33 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 6:18 am
Posts: 69
Sysop*Marius wrote:
walter_j64bit wrote:

WOW, I had no idea! 8) I'm just learning so much about MyDOS, that can fix the timing issue the XF551 has with MyDOS! :wink:


Do you have this problem also on BeWeDos (or sparta?) or only on MyDOS?

Perhaps you have made a configuration mistake? I have had a XF551 in the past (unfortunately it was defect very soon) and I can not remember any problem with it at all. (Except for the fact I could not write to backside like the 1050's can... but that has another reason).

Good luck
Marius

I haven't used Sparta dos with it yet I don't know all the commands and as for writing to backside of a disk all you need to do is use a hold punch and make new timing holds with out punching the disk itself, this something I've learnt that using a TRS80 :lol: and one other way us to use a 1050 to format the backside and the XF551 can write to the disk then. :wink: "configuration mistake" for Mydos it's easy to do the 360k format the XF551 has, DD disk tracks/side=40, step rate1=1 makes a 1427 sector disk :P but if are going to use the 360k formated disk you can't use the backside because the computer use that side automatically. :wink:

look see!


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron