It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
Hello,
With all the ATR hacking to get them to work on carts, does anyone know how to edit Feud to work on NTSC? It has a quirk that when run in NTSC the joystick doesn't work. It has to be in PAL to be playable! Here is the ATR if anyone can help get this to run on NTSC... Would make a nice Cart too!


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:18 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Reading UK
Had a look at this via taking a CAS image and making my own cart from that.

The issue boiled down to the game doing some memory shifting (presumably graphics) during the VBI time and so on a PAL machine has more cycles (i.e. through more VCOUNT lines being available). Some game loop code, around address $7680, is waiting for a VCOUNT=4 and so doesn't get to continue. By checking in a debugger it appears this is now 'free' when VCOUNT=32, so I've set this to 33 just to be on the safe side and the movement works again now. The side affect appears to be a slight(!) flickering in the graphics but appears playable.

You can probably locate the code and patch your disk image accordingly.

Regards,
Mark


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Reading UK
Forgot to mention that the NTSC fix only kicks in if required, on PAL the original setting of VCOUNT=4 is retained.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:53 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 6:48 pm
Posts: 10
Is there a way to make this work in a typical multi-file flashcart with menu loader? In Maxflash stufio and my 800xl, it just crashes.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:39 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Reading UK
Looks like it should be straight forward enough to make an executable version although the game code starts at $0c00 and sometimes DOSes like load addresses to be higher. This can be gotten around by using self-extracting wrappers though. I may get a chance to look at this over the coming weekend but no promises ;)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:29 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 124
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
hi wrathchild,
could you repatch this with the vcount=32 instead of 33.... I have a multitude of real ataris and I want to see if there is any effect or hitches across the line at the tighter settings... thanks



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feud NTSC fix?
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 5:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
Seems to work on NTSC now, thanks! 1Mb Flash image attached!

Can this be made into a XEX or exe file?


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron