Visit Atarimax Store


Free-Net Logo
The Atari SIG Historical Archive
Created and hosted by: atarimax.com
[ HOME | GO ATARI | 8-BIT | ST/TT | PORTFOLIO | LYNX | JAGUAR | LIBRARY ]


 
 The AtariLink Directory - Last updated 31 Dec 1994 
 
 This file is not maintained by, overseen by, endorsed, or otherwise
 associated with Atari Corp. or any of its subsidiaries.  It's a
 listing of Atari users maintained by myself only. I also didn't
 even write this warning or the Jag logo, they're from R. Jung's
 Jaguar FAQ.  =)
 
 BTW, since this IS the AtariLink Directory, I'm open to including
 the ST if enough people tell me they're interested.  Keep in
 mind that I know -nothing- about the system, though. All I 
 know is that Midi Maze is a great multiplayer game... Any other
 ST games link up like this?
 
 Info first, description later.  =)
 
  BATTLEWHEELSDOOMSPACEWARULTRAVORTEX
  A                  _    _  ____  _   _    _ ____
  T                 | |  / |/ ___\| | | |  / |  _ \ 
  T                 | | /  | |  __| | | | /  | |_| |
  L              /| | |/ / | | |_ | | | |/ / |  _ <
  E             | |_| / _  | |__| | |_| / _  | | \\\
  S              \___/_/ |_|\____/ \___/_/ |_|_|  \\\
  P                                                \\\
  HEREAIRCARS
 
 BTW, the names comprising the "box" are simply titles that I'm 
 pretty sure are going to use the network and/or modem, but I
 could be wrong, you know.
 
 City                  E-mail                         Name
 ----------------------------------------------------------------------
 Glendale, CA          ddhyett@jord.jpl.nasa.gov      Denny Hyett
 Los Angeles, CA       howard@lloyd.com               Howard Chu
 San Leandro, CA       btribble@ocf.berkeley.edu      Bobby Tribble
 Snt Cruz/Stanford, CA darmok@leland.stanford.edu     Phil Patton
 Stockton, CA          mbates@netcom.com              Marlin Bates
 Melrose Park, IL      d.iacovelli1@genie.geis.com    Dan Iacovelli
 West Lafayette, IN    ab@cc.purdue.edu               Allen Braunsdorf
 Boston, MA            penfold@ccs.neu.edu            Karl von Laudermann
 Hastings, NE          kennyk@freenet.fsu.edu         Kenny Kant
 New York City, NY     reid@dsm.fordham.edu           Darin Reid
 Columbus, OH          mbmccabe@bronze.coil.com       Matt McCabe
 Lancaster, PA         donald@epix.net                Donald Way
 Lewisburg, PA         svensson@bucknell.edu          Christian Svensson
 Cheyenne, WY          otrtims@aol.com                Tim Steed
 Laramie, WY           almo@plains.uwyo.edu           Ethan Larson
 Ronneby, Sweden       dt94rkr@pt.hk-r.se             Richard Krejstrup
 Wermland, Sweden      chris@p5.tnogobl.ct.se         Christian Andersson
 
 
  RAMPAGEWARBIRDSCHECKEREDFLAGXENOPHOBEZARLORMERCENARYCALIFORNIAGAMES
  O                 __   ____  __   __    _   __  __                H
  B                |  |  \   \/ /  |\ \  | |  \ \/ /                A
  O                |  |   \  / /   | \ \ | |   \ \/                 N
  S                |  |    \/ /    |  \ \| |   <\_>                 G
  Q                |__|_    | |    |  |\   |   /\ \                 H
  U                |____|   |_|    |__| \__|  /_/\_\                A
  A                                                                 I
  SOCCERJOUSTBATTLEWHEELSRAMPARTSLIMEWORLDGAUNTLETCYBERBALLXYBOTSBILL
 
 
 * Bad E-mail address.  If you're reading this please update!
 
 City                  E-mail                         Name
 ----------------------------------------------------------------------
 Berkeley, CA          osserman@ocf.berkeley.edu      Brian Osserman
 Glendale, CA          ddhyett@jord.jpl.nasa.gov      Denny Hyett
 Hayward, CA           wastrel@jotunheim.ebay.sun.com William Osser
 Los Angeles area      legrand@tesla.mbi.ucla.edu     Scott Le Grand
 Los Angeles, CA       howard@llyod.com               Howard Chu
 Milpitas, CA          jonin@netcom.com               Daniel Oak
 Mountain View, CA    *robocop@cup.portal.com (ref)   Robert Hanson
 Mountain View, CA    *robocop@cup.portal.com (ref)   Gary Hanson
 Sacramento, CA        wglahol@eis.calstate.edu       Bill Glaholt 
 San Francisco, CA     temert@eis.calstate.edu        Jason Ligon
 San Jose, CA         *robocop@cup.portal.com         David Cagle
 San Leandro, CA       btribble@ocf.berkeley.edu      Bobby Tribble
 San Leandro, CA       jchew@ctp.org                  Jonathan Chew
 San Luis Obispo, CA   fdeleon@oboe.calpoly.edu       Francis deLeon
 Snt Cruz/Stanford, CA darmok@leland.stanford.edu     Phil Patto
 So. SF Bay Area, CA   wilsont@rahul.net              Timothy Wilson  
 Stockton, CA          mbates@netcom.com              Marlin Bates
 Denver, CO            dweinste@carl.org              Dave Weinstein
 Chicago, IL           whitema@rtsg.mot.com           Michael White
 Melrose Park, IL      d.iacovelli1@genie.geis.com    Dan Iacovelli
 Northbrook, IL        trixter@mcs.com                Jim Leonard
 West Lafayette, IN    ab@cc.purdue.edu               Allen Braunsdorf
 New Orleans, LA       bcantin@aol.com                Barry Cantin
 College Park, MD      jadams@eng.umd.edu             Josh Adams
 Ellicott City, MD     jonke@kong.gsfc.nasa.gov       Steve Jonke
 Rockville, MD         mbarton@us.oracle.com          Mike Barton
 Boston area           jco@bbn.com                    John Orthoefer
 Boston area-Waltham   laird@marble.com               Laird Popkin
 Boston area-NH Border nugget@genesis.nred.ma.us      Ralph Barbagallo
 Winston-Salem, NC     majors@kbrown.oldcampus.yale.edu Tony Majors
 Albuquerque, NM       marms@sandia.gov               Mike Arms
 Las Cruces, NM        101011@acca.nmsu.edu           Stomper (?)
 Las Cruces, NM        jafickli@nmsu.edu              tgfe/Jordan Ficklin
 Cleveland, OH         davewt@ncoast.org              David Wright
 Columbus, OH          mbmccabe@bronze.coil.com       Matt McCabe
 Columbus, OH          harmon@math.ohio-state.edu     Jim Harmon
 Kenton, OH            d-woodard@onu.edu              Daniel Woodard
 South Carolina        porter@charlie.ece.scarolina.edu Robert V Porter IV
 Austin, TX            rene@dvorak.amd.com            L. Rene' Castro
 Austin, TX            bbishop@austin.ibm.com         Brad Bishop
 Austin, TX            bgilbert@natinst.com           Ben Gilbert
 Richmond, VA          cde1jdp@cabell.vcu.edu         Joel Priddy
 Laramie, WY           almo@plains.uwyo.edu           Ethan Larson
 Ottawa Ontario Canada costa@aix1.uottawa.ca          Costa Karamalis
 Montreal, Qc          smokin@thym.remm.uqam.ca       Joseph Hogan
 Bristol, England      ange@hplb.hpl.hp.com           Andy Norman
 York, England         andrew@minster.york.ac.uk      Andrew Hague
 Denmark               mrdo@diku.dk                   Lars Jeppesen
 Fahrdorf, Germany     cookie@cookie.syd.de           Stefan Damerau
 Kaiserslautern, Germany gehm@student.uni-kl.de       Rouven Gehm
 Cordoba, Spain        javier@druuna.uco.es           Javier Alvarez Uriarte
 Ronneby, Sweden       dt94rkr@pt.hk-r.se             Richard Krejstrup
 Australia             kerrinp@byron.apana.org.au     Kerrin Pine
 Australia             kerrinp@byron.apana.org.au(ref)Andrew Ellis
 Sydney, Australia     dchallis@extro.ucc.oz.au       Darren Challis
 
 ---
 
 "What is the AtariLink Directory?"
 
 One of the greatest features of Atari's line of products is their
 link-ability.  The Lynx allows up to 8 players to compete
 against each other simultaneously.  The Jaguar has the ability
 for players to compete via networked game or over the modem.
 The AtariLink Directory is a way for anyone with e-mail access 
 to hook up and play.  For networked games all you need to do is 
 look for someone on the list who lives in an area near you (or an
 area you'll be visiting) and drop them an e-mail message to set up
 a time and place to get together and Link up!  Modem games are even
 easier as they're only a phone call away.  You don't have to
 give out any personal information, just your e-mail address and
 what area you live in.  Mail you get about Linking up can be
 handled in any way you want, including ignoring it if you're 
 in a bad mood.  =)
 
 TO ADD OR UPDATE YOUR ENTRY:
 
 Just send e-mail to btribble@ocf.berkeley.edu and include your
 e-mail address, name, and area that you live in.  From now on 
 I'm only handling the "short" listing of people as the "long" 
 listing was starting to be difficult to manipulate.  I'd be
 happy to include a one-line message under your name, though.
 Users of outside services that can access Internet mail such
 as CompuServe, America Online, GEnie, etc. are welcome to join.  
 For friends who want to join but don't have an e-mail address, 
 include your e-mail address for referrals.
 
 The latest version of the directory can be viewed by fingering
 "btribble.link@ocf.berkeley.edu".  A copy of a recent version
 of the list is also at Andy Eddy's (vidgames@netcom.com - an
 extremely nice guy, BTW) FTP site at ftp.netcom.com in
 pub/vi/vidgames/faqs.  If you are looking for a FAQ chances are
 it's there.  Also, here's the plug for his magazine - read
 Gamepro!  =)
 
 
 MISC:
 Some things I'm wondering about are:
 Does one need the Atari voice modem to play modem games, or can you 
 use a regular computer modem as a substitute?  I have a USR 14.4
 Sportster external, so that's mainly why I'm asking here... =)
 
 Can one play modem games over the Internet, allowing savings of
 long-distance phone bills?
 The main problem with this is that the Jaguar has no terminal
 program (so far =) and I don't know what connecting through a 
 PC, unscrewing your cable, and attaching it to your Jag would
 do.  There's a lot of if's here, and actually I doubt this would
 work, but it's neat idea...
 
 [for more info, finger btribble.link@ocf.berkeley.edu]
 
 
 


Visit Atarimax Store